The Series Philosopher

Philosophising about the 'S'-word: Watch… and learn

The Hour

the_series_philosopher_the_hour_bbcThe Hour is a 2011 BBC drama series centred on a new current-affairs show being launched by the BBC in June 1956, at the time of the Hungarian Revolution and Suez Crisis. It stars Ben Whishaw (Criminal Justice), Dominic West (The Wire, The Affair) and Romola Garai, with a supporting cast including Tim Pigott-Smith (The Chief, The Vice), Juliet Stevenson (The Village), Burn Gorman (Torchwood), Anton Lesser (Little Dorrit), Anna Chancellor (Jupiter Moon, Spooks), Julian Rhind-Tutt (Green Wing), and Oona Chaplin (Game of Thrones, The Crimson Field, Black Mirror). It was written by Abi Morgan (also one of the executive producers, alongside Jane Featherstone and Derek Wax).

The series premiered on BBC Two and BBC HD from 19 July 2011 each Tuesday at 9 pm. Each episode lasts 60 minutes, with Ruth Kenley-Letts as producer and Coky Giedroyc (Penny Dreadful) as lead director. It was commissioned by Janice Hadlow, Controller, BBC Two, and Ben Stephenson, Controller, BBC Drama Commissioning and produced by Kudos Film and Television.

Following the airing of the final episode of the first series, it was announced that a second series had been commissioned, which is co-produced by American network BBC America. It premiered on 14 November 2012 in the UK and on 28 November 2012 in the United States.

On 12 February 2013, it was announced that the series was cancelled by the BBC.

Follow The Series Philosopher on

The Series Philosopher is a blog by P:S • Arts & Entertainment

The Series Philosopher is a woman in her late 20s. Not an Athenian or a Greek, but a citizen of the world.

Member of The Internet Defense League

The Show List

The Series Philosopher is a blog by P:S • Arts & Entertainment

The Serial Twitter

%d bloggers like this: